Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
News & Press: PCI News

The Powder Coating Institute Names 2020 Hall of Fame Inductees

Tuesday, May 19, 2020  
Share |

The Powder Coating Institute (PCI) is pleased to announce the selection of three 2020 Hall of Fame inductees.  The Hall of Fame was initiated in 2001 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Powder Coating Institute and the powder coating industry.  Nominated by industry peers, eligible Hall of Fame members must be retired and have a minimum of 15 years in the industry.

This year, the recipients of this prestigious recognition are David Beamish, Terry Giles and John Heyer. “As PCI is mostly a volunteer organization, it is great to be able to honor those that have contributed significantly to improving PCI and the powder coating industry” stated Kevin Coursin, Executive Director.  “These individuals have gone above and beyond the call and are what make PCI truly the voice of the industry.”

Receiving this well-deserved recognition posthumously, David Beamish was the president of DeFelsko and a dedicated advocate for PCI and the powder coating industry.  His substantial involvement with the education committee led to the creation of the testing equipment module for PCI’s training workshops.  He was instrumental in leading that initiative.  He also served as a qualified presenter and subject matter expert volunteer, while working to improve the overall industry through advances in instrumentation.  PCI was privileged to have his leadership and involvement for so many years.

Terry Giles served PCI for nearly thirty years and was heavily involved in the education and technical committees.  Most notable is Terry’s contribution to Powder Coating: The Complete Finisher’s Handbook.  His expertise in the pretreatment chemicals segment was critical in writing the handbook and creating the slide decks for the hands-on training workshops.  Terry was a veteran speaker for PCI conferences and always willing to volunteer when needed.  PCI is grateful for Terry’s support and service throughout the years.

John Heyer was an active PCI member for many years and was president of Kettle Moraine Coatings for more than forty years.  Through his leadership, the company received multiple awards and recognition as well as the reputation of a premier coater.  His involvement with PCI supported the certification, custom coater, membership, and technical development committees.  John has devoted his time giving back to the powder coating industry with his presentations, published topics and guidance to educate future coatings professionals.

It is a pleasure to welcome the PCI 2020 Hall of Fame honorees David Beamish, posthumously, Terry Giles and John Heyer.  Thank you for all you have done for PCI and the powder coating industry. The induction ceremony for this year’s honorees will take place at PCI’s 2021 Annual Meeting in Montana.