Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Powder Coating Institute Scholarship Program

PCI has established an educational fund which is designated for the sole purpose of soliciting, recommending and approving scholarship awards to students who are pursuing studies in fields related to powder coating. They must attend an educational institution that offers studies related to the powder coating industry such as polymer science, manufacturing, engineering, business management, or sales/marketing.

PCI Members: Is your company interested in supporting PCI's Scholarship Program?
There are two ways to contribute.

Corporate Donations
Donations of $5,000 or more will be considered a "Named" Scholarship, which means we will name the scholarship distribution after your company. Also, named scholarships enable your company to choose the school(s) to solicit and participate in the selection of the scholarship winner.

PCI General Scholarship Donations
Any donation amount will be accepted. Donations of $250 or more will receive the recognition outlined below.

Donors of $250 or more will receive the following recognition:

  • On social media.
  • On the PCI and PCT website for the calendar year in which the donation was made and for the following year.
  • In the Jan/Feb issue of PCT, which seeks applicants for the scholarship.
  • In the PCT Jul/Aug issue where we recognize the scholarship winners each year.

Donate to the PCI Scholarship Fund

Thank you to the following companies for donating to the PCI General Scholarship Fund

  • Slocum Equipment
  • DWM Holdings - in honor of Greg Taylor of Gema USA Inc.

2020 Scholarship Distribution

The 2020 PCI Scholarship Program awarded $30,000 in total, which includes donations of $5,000 from each of our corporate donors: Axalta Coating Systems, Gema USA, Nordson Corporation and PPG, and a general scholarship fund donation from Slocum Equipment Inc.

PCI/Axalta Scholarship  
Robert Bouscher
University of Akron
PCI/Gema Scholarship 
 Molly Sanchez
Indiana Tech
PCI/Nordson Ken Kreeger Scholarship
Dakota Weinmann
Case Western Reserve University
PCI/PPG Scholarship  
 Mark Rupert
University of Cincinnati
PCI General Scholarships 
 Sydney Preston
University of Cincinnati 
 Celine Schmitt
University of Cincinnati 


2019 Scholarship Distribution

The 2019 PCI Scholarship Program awarded $25,000 in total, which includes donations of $5,000 from each of our corporate donors: Axalta Coating Systems, Gema USA and Nordson Corporation.  

PCI/Axalta Scholarship   
Samuel Little
Purdue University
PCI/Gema Scholarship  
Genevieve Andreae
University of Wisconsin - Platteville 
PCI/Nordson Ken Kreeger Scholarship
Daikon Iverson
University of Wisconsin - Stout 
PCI General Scholarships 
  Mark Rupert
University of Cincinnati 
Ashley Sullivan
University of Cincinnati 

2018 Scholarship Distribution

The PCI 2018 Scholarship Program awarded $25,000 to students who are pursuing studies in powder coating technology.

On August 10, 2018, Nordson presented the PCI/Nordson Builds Scholarship to Emily Chojecki.    


(Pictured left to right: Human Resource Mgr., Courtney Grandon, Ron Chojecki, Pam Chojecki, Emily Chojecki, and Senior Sales Director, Dan Thompson)
PCI/Axalta Scholarship  
Alison Rohly
North Dakota State University
PCI/Gema Scholarship  
  Hayden Castagno
Brigham Young University-Idaho
PCI/Nordson Builds Scholarship  
  Emily Chojecki
Purdue University
PCI General Scholarships  
  Alexis Corda
Purdue University
  Maggie Sackse
University of Oregon
  Alyson Sillin
University of Oregon

2017 Scholarship Distribution

The PCI 2017 Scholarship Program awarded $20,000 to students who are pursuing studies in powder coating technology.  


The PCI/Gema 2017 Scholarship was awarded at Powder Coating 2017 in Indianapolis, IN.

PCI Executive Director, Trena Benson along with Scholarship Chair Kevin Biller and Gema representative, Chris Merritt, present Gabriella Bettegnies (IUPUI) and Luke Groninger (Purdue Polytechnic) the 2017 PCI/Gema Scholarships.



  Axalta Business Director Michael Bollen (left) presents scholarship to recipient Ted Hammer at the Axalta facility in Hilliard, Ohio.


Benjamin Whipker receives his award during a ceremony at the Nordson Amherst campus.
(Left to right) Dan Thompson, director of sales, Nordson Corporation; award recipient Benjamin Whipker; Greg Dawson, regional sales manager, Nordson Powder Coating Systems; and Sue Ivancic, account executive, Nordson Powder Coating Systems.

    (Left to right) PCI General Scholarship award recipients Raviteja Kommineni, Eastern Michigan University and Shiyin Yu, Eastern Michigan University.


2016 Scholarship Distribution

Scholarships Awarded 2016 - 2017 School Year

    PCI/Nordson Builds Scholarship presented to Jakob Waffen
    PCI Executive Director presents PCI Scholarships to Diana Rodriquez and Youcheng Du
    PCI/Axalta Scholarship winner Zhongzheng Cai



Applicants must be a citizen or permanent resident of the U.S.A, Canada or Mexico to be considered for a PCI Scholarship.